Mobile Applications
Available now for the iPhone, Android and Blackberry!
This page in English
Diese Seite auf Deutsch
Print icon Print page  

Dublin Districts

Dublin is divided up into 24 districts, most of which are in relatively close proximity to each other either by foot or public transport.

Dublin 1 encompasses most of the inner north of the city and includes O'Connell, Dorset and Henry Streets.

To the south of the River Liffey is Dublin 2, a frequent haunt for visitors. It includes the Temple Bar cultural quarter as well Grafton Street with its up-market shops. St Stephen's Green, Trinity College and the National Gallery are also located here.

Dublin 7 is home to the Four Courts complex, which contains the four main law courts of Ireland, situated on the River Liffey.

Dublin 8 contains the historic Christ Church and St Patrick's Cathedrals as well as one of Dublin's great open areas, Phoenix Park. This spectacular park covers over 1760 acres and is only 3km to the north west of the city center.

Dublin's 1, 2, 7 and 8 are all in close proximity to the city center.

Dublin 3 is home to Ireland's largest sports stadium Croke Park, headquarters of the Gaelic Athletic Association. Its main aim is to promote Irish national sports and regular tours of the stadium are conducted. It is only about a 15 minute walk from O'Connell Street.

You will find Rathfarnham Castle and Loreto Abbey in district 14 on Dublin's Southside. Rathfarnham Castle can trace its beginnings to prehistoric times and Loreto Abbey is a beautiful mansion and home to the Institute of the Blessed Virgin Mary.

One of the best and most expensive residential areas is found in District 4. Here, beautiful, well-kept, mostly Victorian houses line Shrewsbury and Aylesbury Roads. As you may expect, the area also has many fine restaurants and fashion boutiques.

Districts to the north of the River Liffey are perceived to be poorer than those south of the river. This is a very big generalization as there are still plenty of well to do people living on the northside, especially in the suburbs of Howth and Castleknock. All districts on the northside have odd numbered postcodes while those on the south have even codes.

Please note: Information was correct at the time of publishing but can change without notice. For more information, see our Terms and Conditions.